SIAM News Blog

The Lewis Thomas Prize for Writing about Science

Since 1993, Rockefeller University has conferred the Lewis Thomas Prize each year on “the rare individual” who succeeds in bridging the worlds of writers and scientists. Ian Stewart of Warwick University, in the UK, and Steven Strogatz of Cornell University, the first mathematicians to receive the prize, are well known to the SIAM community, both for their research and for their general-audience books, articles, and broadcasts. Both have made conveying the nature, interest, and uses of mathematics an integral part of their careers.

All photos by Scott Rudd.

blog comments powered by Disqus