SIAM News Blog

SIAM Activity Groups Election Results

SIAM is pleased to announce new officers for several activity groups. SIAM Activity Groups (SIAGs) provide a more focused forum for SIAM members interested in exploring one of the areas of applied mathematics, computational science, or applications.

Officers began their terms on January 1 and will serve 2-year terms through the end of 2018 except where noted. Thank you to all of our outgoing SIAG officers!

SIAG on Analysis of Partial Differential Equations (SIAG/APDE) – Eitan Tadmor, Chair; Milton da Costa Lopes Filho, Vice-Chair; Alexis Vasseur, Program Director; Alina Chertock, Secretary

SIAG on Computational Science and Engineering (SIAG/CSE) – Hans De Sterck, Chair; Lorena Barba, Vice-Chair; Suzanne Shontz, Program Director; Karen Devine, Secretary

SIAG on Applied Mathematics Education (SIAG/ED) – Ben Galluzzo, Chair; Rosalie Belanger-Rioux, Vice-Chair; Eric Kostelich, Program Director; Kathleen Kavanagh Fowler, Secretary

SIAG on Financial Mathematics and Engineering (SIAG/FME) – Sebastian Jaimungal, Chair; Tim Leung, Vice-Chair; Agostino Capponi, Program Director; Francesca Biagini, Secretary

SIAG on Geometric Design (SIAG/GD) –Kai Hormann, Chair; Heidi E. I. Dahl, Vice-Chair; Carolina Vittoria Beccari, Program Director; Bonita V. Saunders, Secretary

SIAG on Geosciences (SIAG/GS) – Susan Minkoff, Chair; Jodi Mead, Vice-Chair; Sorin Pop, Program Director; Yuguang Chen, Secretary

SIAG on Life Sciences (SIAG/LS) – Mary Ann Horn, Chair; Paul Atzberger, Vice-Chair; Alla Borisyuk, Program Director; Sarah Olson, Secretary

SIAG on Mathematics of Planet Earth (SIAG/MPE) – Hans Engler, Chair; Kathleen Kavanagh Fowler, Vice-Chair; Eleanor W. Jenkins, Program Director; Pedro Gajardo, Secretary

SIAG on Mathematical Aspects of Materials Science (SIAG/MS) [3 year terms] – Patricia Bauman, Chair; Dmitry Golovaty, Vice-Chair; Govind Menon, Program Director; Elena Cherkaev, Secretary

SIAG on Nonlinear Waves and Coherent Structures (SIAG/NWCS) – Peter Miller, Chair; Douglas Wright, Vice-Chair; Todd Kapitula, Program Director; Katie Oliveras, Secretary

SIAG on Orthogonal Polynomials and Special Functions (SIAG/OPSF) [3 year terms] – Walter Van Assche, Chair; Andrei Martinez-Finkelshtein, Vice-Chair; Sarah Post, Program Director; Yuan Xu, Secretary

SIAG on Optimization (SIAG/OPT) [3 year terms] – Tamás Terlaky, Chair; Andreas Waechter, Vice-Chair; Michael Friedlander, Program Director; James Luedtke, Secretary

SIAG on Uncertainty Quantification (SIAG/UQ) – Roger Ghanem, Chair; Elaine Spiller, Vice-Chair; Youssef Marzouk, Program Director; Noemi Petra, Secretary

blog comments powered by Disqus