SIAM News Blog

Members of the SIAM Community Elected as 2022 AAAS Fellows

In October 2022, the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) elected more than 500 of its members as AAAS Fellows. These individuals were selected based on their outstanding efforts to better serve society through the advancement of science and its applications. They collectively represent the 24 distinct sections of AAAS—including categories like Mathematics; Physics; Engineering; and Information, Computing, and Communication—and are honored for their successes in research, technology, teaching and academic administration, industry and government, and/or science communication. Eligible nominees must be AAAS members for at least four continuous years prior to nomination.

The 2022 AAAS Fellows include the following members of the SIAM community:

  • Linda M. Abriola, Brown University
  • Tryphon T. Georgiou, University of California, Irvine
  • Lise Getoor, University of California, Santa Cruz
  • Abba B. Gumel, University of Maryland, College Park
  • Brendan Hassett, Brown University
  • Hans G. Kaper, Georgetown University (editor-in-chief of SIAM News)
  • Irena Lasiecka, University of Memphis
  • Lorenzo M. Polvani, Columbia University
  • Padma Raghavan, Vanderbilt University
  • Pengyu Ren, The University of Texas at Austin
  • Robert Rosner, University of Chicago
  • Jaideep S. Vaidya, Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
  • Talitha M. Washington, Clark Atlanta University / Atlanta University Center
  • Mohammed J. Zaki, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute 

Congratulations to these individuals on their extraordinary achievement. The class of 2022 Fellows will be acknowledged during the Fellows Forum at the 2023 AAAS Annual Meeting, which will take place in Washington, D.C., in early March. 

A full list of all new AAAS Fellows is available online. Visit the webpage for more information about the AAAS Fellows program.

blog comments powered by Disqus