SIAM News Blog

Mathematicians Receive Distinguished Awards in 2023 from International Applied Mathematics Society

Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM) has announced 16 recipients of prestigious prizes in recognition of their research contributions, lifetime achievements, and service to the fields of applied mathematics and computational science. SIAM awards prizes to bring attention to the important work being done in the mathematical sciences, to encourage high quality research, and to honor those who make outstanding contributions toward these ends. SIAM would also like to thank all the nominators who recognized their colleagues for their accomplishments.

Congratulations to these esteemed prize recipients! 

Douglas Arnold, University of Minnesota
The 2023 Peter Henrici Prize is awarded to Douglas Arnold for fundamental contributions of extraordinary originality, depth, and impact to the finite element analysis of partial differential equations, ranking amongst the classics in numerical analysis literature. This prize will be awarded at ICIAM 2023 with an associated lecture.

Annalisa Buffa, École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne
AWM-SIAM Kovalevsky Lecture 
Professor Annalisa Buffa is among the most influential applied mathematicians of her generation; she has made pioneering contributions to modeling electromagnetism in non-smooth spaces, numerical methods in electromagnetics and beyond, as well as optimizing the design-through analysis process. These results are of seminal importance as they impact engineering applications and industrial mathematics, as well as offer deep contributions to the development and analysis of numerical methods in their own right. This prize will be awarded at ICIAM 2023 with an associated lecture.

Hannah Fry, University College London
The 2023 George Pólya Prize for Mathematical Exposition is awarded to Hannah Fry for sustained excellence in conveying the power and appeal of mathematics to large audiences of colleagues, domain experts, students, and the public. This prize will be awarded at ICIAM 2023.

Thomas Yizhao Hou, California Institute of Technology
The 2023 Ralph E. Kleinman Prize is awarded to Thomas Yizhao Hou for highly original and pioneering research contributions positioned at the meeting point between analytical and computational approaches to partial differential equations with multiscale or singular behavior. This prize will be awarded at ICIAM 2023.

Devin A. Matthews, Southern Methodist University
Field G. Van Zee, University of Texas at Austin
The 2023 James H. Wilkinson Prize for Numerical Software is awarded to Devin A. Matthews and Field G. Van Zee for the development of BLIS, a portable open-source software framework that facilitates rapid instantiation of high-performance BLAS and BLAS-like operations targeting modern CPUs. This prize will be awarded at SIAM CSE 2023 with an associated lecture.

Robert J. McCann, University of Toronto 
W. T. & Idalia Reid Prize 
The 2023 W. T. and Idalia Reid Prize is awarded to Robert J. McCann for pioneering and fundamental results in the field of optimal transport theory with deep applications to analysis and geometry. This prize will be awarded at SIAM CT 2023 with an associated lecture.

Yousef Saad, University of Minnesota
The 2023 John von Neumann prize is awarded to Yousef Saad for fundamental contributions to scientific computing, especially algorithms for sparse linear systems, eigenvalue problems, nonlinear equations, graph algorithms, and their applications to a wide range of problems in computational science and engineering including quantum chemistry, material science, and data science. His two outstanding monographs “Iterative Methods for Sparse Linear Systems” and “Numerical Methods for Large Eigenvalue Problems” have been highly influential on researchers and practitioners alike, and remain models of expository writing in these important areas of applied mathematics. This prize will be awarded at ICIAM 2023 with an associated lecture.

Fadil Santosa, Johns Hopkins University
The 2023 SIAM Prize for Distinguished Service to the Profession is awarded to Fadil Santosa in recognition of his extraordinary dedication to bridging the gap between industry and academia. Through his leadership of the Institute for Mathematics and its Applications, he played a central role in supporting young researchers; this valuable mentoring has continued through his work with the BIG Math Network. He has also advanced the field of applied mathematics through his editorial work, for instance on the Princeton Companion for Applied Mathematics. His tireless efforts will have a lasting impact on our profession. This prize will be awarded at ICIAM 2023.

Carol S. Woodward, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
Cody J. Balos, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
Peter N. Brown, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
David J. Gardner, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
Alan C. Hindmarsh, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
Daniel R. Reynolds, Southern Methodist University
Radu Serban, University of Wisconsin
SIAM/ACM Prize in Computational Science and Engineering
The 2023 SIAM/ACM Prize in Computational Science and Engineering is awarded to the SUNDIALS core development team for innovative research and development of nonlinear and differential/algebraic equation solvers for high-performance computing that provides unique, critical capabilities in the scientific software ecosystem. This prize will be awarded at SIAM CSE 2023 with an associated lecture.
blog comments powered by Disqus