SIAM News Blog

Congratulations, Newly-Elected Activity Group Officers!

New officers have been elected for the following activity groups. Thanks to all candidates for participating in the process. You can join a SIAG when renewing or creating a membership, but if your membership is current, you can still join SIAGs by going to

Analysis of Partial Differential Equations (SIAG/APDE)

Chair: Eitan Tadmor
Vice Chair: Milton da Costa Lopes Filho
Program Director: Alexis Vasseur
Secretary: Alina E. Chertock

Applied Mathematics Education (SIAG/ED)

Chair: Benjamin Galluzzo
Vice Chair: Rosalie Belanger-Rioux
Program Director: Eric Kostelich
Secretary: Kathleen R. Kavanagh

Computational Science and Engineering (SIAG/CSE)

Chair: Hans De Sterck
Vice Chair: Lorena Barba
Program Director: Suzanne Shontz
Secretary: Karen Devine

Financial Mathematics and Engineering (SIAG/FME)

Chair: Sebastian Jaimungal
Vice Chair: Tim Leung
Program Director: Agostino Capponi
Secretary: Francesca Biagini

Geometric Design (SIAG/GD)

Chair: Kai Hormann
Vice Chair: Heidi Dahl
Program Director: Carolina Beccari
Secretary: Bonita Saunders

Geosciences (SIAG/GS)

Chair: Susan Minkoff
Vice Chair: Jodi Mead
Program Director: Sorin Pop
Secretary: Yuguang Chen

Life Sciences (SIAG/LS)

Chair: Mary Ann Horn
Vice Chair: Paul Atzberger
Program Director: Alla Borisyuk
Secretary: Sarah Olson

Mathematical Aspects of Materials Science (SIAG/MS)

Chair: Patricia Bauman
Vice Chair: Dmitry Golovaty
Program Director: Govind Menon
Secretary: Elena Cherkaev

Mathematics of Planet Earth (SIAG/MPE)

Chair: Hans Engler
Vice Chair: Kathleen R. Kavanagh
Program Director: Eleanor Jenkins
Secretary: Pedro Gajardo

Nonlinear Waves and Coherent Structures (SIAG/NWCS)

Chair: Peter Miller
Vice Chair: Jay Douglas Wright
Program Director: Todd Kapitula
Secretary: Katie Oliveras

Optimization (SIAG/OPT)

Chair: Tamás Terlaky
Vice Chair: Andreas Waechter
Program Director: Michael Friedlander
Secretary: James Luedtke

Orthogonal Polynomials and Special Functions (SIAG/OPSF)

Chair: Walter Van Assche
Vice Chair: Andrei Martinez-Finkelshtein
Program Director: Sarah Post
Secretary: Yuan Xu

Uncertainty Quantification (SIAG/UQ)

Chair: Roger Ghanem
Vice Chair: Elaine Spiller
Program Director: Youssef Marzouk
Secretary: Noemi Petra

*All officer terms are from 1/1/2017 through 12/31/2018, except for SIAG/MS, SIAG/OPT, and SIAG/OPSF, whose officers serve three year terms (1/1/2017 through 12/31/2019).


Elections of officers for the following activity groups will be held in 2017 for terms of office beginning January 1, 2018. Please contact [email protected] if you are interested in nominating a colleague or running yourself.

Algebraic Geometry (SIAG/AG)
Control and Systems Theory (SIAG/CST)
Data Mining and Analytics (SIAG/DMA)
Discrete Mathematics (SIAG/DM)
Dynamical Systems (SIAG/DS)
Imaging Science (SIAG/IS)
Supercomputing (SIAG/SC)

blog comments powered by Disqus