SIAM News Blog

SIAM Science Policy Fellowships

By James Crowley

SIAM's Science Policy Fellowship Program engages early-career professionals in science policy and advocacy. The fellowship recipients will learn about the workings of science policy as it pertains to our discipline by participating in SIAM’s Committee on Science Policy (CSP) meetings and conducting relevant activities to further SIAM’s science policy efforts.

The 2020 fellowship recipients are as follows:

  • Samantha ErwinOak Ridge National Laboratories
  • Michael SchneierUniversity of Pittsburgh
  • Alyson FoxLawrence Livermore National Lab
  • George SlotaRensselaer Polytechnic Institute
  • Luis Sordo VieiraThe Jackson Laboratory
  • Andy HuangSandia National Laboratories
  • Anthony BonifonteDenison University

Fellowships will pay for travel to the biannual SIAM CSP meetings. Each spring, the CSP meets with representatives of agencies (such as the National Science Foundation and the Department of Energy) relevant to our discipline and visits congressional offices to promote the importance of research funding, graduate training, and undergraduate education in applied mathematics and computational science. 

During the fall meeting, the CSP meets with agency representatives and formulates priorities for the following year.

Fellows will also participate in training and webinars to explore various facets of science policy and advocacy, learn how to effectively communicate science, and engage with policy makers on topics of interest to the SIAM community. Learn more about SIAM's Science Policy Fellowships Program.

Jim Crowley is the Executive Director of SIAM.
blog comments powered by Disqus