SIAM News Blog

SIAM Science Policy Fellowships

By James Crowley

SIAM has initiated a new Science Policy Fellowships Program to engage early-career professionals in science policy and advocacy. The fellowship recipients will learn about the workings of science policy as it pertains to our discipline by participating in SIAM’s Committee on Science Policy (CSP) meetings and conducting relevant activities to further SIAM’s science policy efforts.

The winners of the fellowships, which will begin January 1, 2018, are as follows:

  • Natalie Sheils, University of Minnesota
  • Sheri Martinelli, Pennsylvania State University
  • Robert Edman, Adventium Labs
  • Rosalie Belanger-Rioux, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Emily Evans, Brigham Young University
  • Jason Pries, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
  • Sucheta Soundarajan, Syracuse University

Fellowships will pay for travel to the biannual SIAM CSP meetings. Each spring, the CSP meets with representatives of agencies (such as the National Science Foundation  and the Department of Energy) relevant to our discipline and visits congressional offices to promote the importance of research funding, graduate training, and undergraduate education in applied mathematics and computational science. 

During the fall meeting, the CSP meets with agency representatives and formulates priorities for the following year.

Fellows will also participate in training and webinars to explore various facets of science policy and advocacy, learn how to effectively communicate science, and engage with policy makers on topics of interest to the SIAM community.

  Jim Crowley is the executive director of SIAM. 
blog comments powered by Disqus