SIAM News Blog

SIAM Prize Lecturers and Recipients at ICIAM19

Prize Lecturers

The John von Neumann Prize Lecture - Margaret H. Wright
Peter Henrici Prize Lecture - Weinan E
AWM-SIAM Sonia Kovalevsky Lecture - Catherine Sulem                                                                                                 

Prize Recipients

Margaret H. Wright, Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, New York University, U.S.

A Hungarian Feast of Applied Mathematics
Tuesday, July 16, 2019, 7:15 p.m.

Margaret H. Wright is Silver Professor of Computer Science and Mathematics in the Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, New York University. She received her B.S. in mathematics and M.S and Ph.D. in computer science from Stanford University. She has been elected to the National Academy of Engineering, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and the National Academy of Sciences. She is a Fellow of SIAM, the American Mathematical Society (AMS), and the Institute of Operations Research and Management Science (INFORMS). She served as SIAM’s first woman President in 1995-1996. She is the 5th woman to receive the prestigious John von Neumann Prize.

Peter Henrici Prize Lecture

Weinan E, Princeton University, U.S.

Machine Learning and Multiscale Modeling
Monday, July 15, 2019, 7:15 p.m.

Weinan E is a professor in the Department of Mathematics and the Program in Applied and Computational Mathematics at Princeton. He received his Ph.D. from the University of California, Los Angeles in 1989, after which he held visiting positions at New York University (NYU) and the Institute for Advanced Study. He was a member of the faculty of NYU’s Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences from 1994 to 1999. E was awarded the Collatz Prize of the International Council for Industrial and Applied Mathematics in 2003, and SIAM’s Ralph E. Kleinman Prize and Theodore von Kármán Prize in 2009 and 2014 respectively. He became a fellow of the Institute of Physics in 2005, an inaugural SIAM Fellow in 2009, and a fellow of the American Mathematical Society in 2012. He was also elected as a member of the Chinese Academy of Sciences in 2011. 

AWM-SIAM Sonia Kovalevsky Lecture

Catherine Sulem, University of Toronto, Ontario, Canada

The Dynamics of Ocean Waves
Wednesday, July 17, 2019, 7:15 p.m.

Catherine Sulem is Professor of Mathematics at the University of Toronto. She received her Doctorat d'État from the Université de Paris-Nord in 1983 and held a CNRS position at the École Normale Supérieure in Paris before coming to the University of Toronto in 1990. Together with Pierre-Louis Sulem, she wrote the monograph, The Nonlinear Schrödinger Equation: Self-Focusing Instability and Wave Collapse, which first appeared in 1999. She was awarded the Krieger-Nelson Prize of the Canadian Mathematical Society (CMS) in 1998, and was elected Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada in 2015. Sulem was elected an Inaugural Fellow of the American Mathematical Society (AMS) in 2013, and of the CMS in 2018. She has served on the editorial boards of several journals, including Canadian Journal of Mathematics (1999–2005), SIAM Journal on Mathematical Analysis (2001--2010), and Proceedings of the AMS (since 2013).

Prize Recipients

George Pólya Prize for Mathematical Exposition

Steven Strogatz, Cornell University, U.S.

Steven Strogatz is the Jacob Gould Schurman Professor of Applied Mathematics at Cornell University. He works in the areas of nonlinear dynamics and complex systems, often on topics inspired by the curiosities of everyday life. He studied at Princeton University, Cambridge University, and Harvard University and taught at Massachusetts Institute of Technology before moving to Cornell University in 1994. A renowned teacher and one of the world’s most highly cited mathematicians, he has blogged about math for The New York Times and The New Yorker and has been a frequent guest on Radiolab and Science Friday. He is the author of several books: Nonlinear Dynamics and Chaos, Sync, The Calculus of Friendship, and The Joy of x. His most recent book is Infinite Powers: How Calculus Reveals the Secrets of the Universe.

Ralph E. Kleinman Prize

Andrea L. Bertozzi, UCLA, U.S.

Andrea L. Bertozzi is Distinguished Professor of Mathematics and Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering at UCLA. She completed all her degrees in mathematics at Princeton University. After postdoctoral work at the University of Chicago and Argonne National Laboratory, she joined the faculty of Duke University in 1995. In 2003, she joined the faculty of UCLA as a professor of mathematics, and, since 2005, she has served as Director of Applied Mathematics, overseeing the graduate and undergraduate research training programs at UCLA. In 2012, she was appointed the Betsy Wood Knapp Chair for Innovation and Creativity. She was awarded a Simons Math + X Investigator Award in 2017, joint with UCLA's California NanoSystems Institute (CNSI). And in 2018, she was appointed Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, in addition to her primary position in the UCLA Mathematics Department. Bertozzi was awarded the AWM-SIAM Sonia Kovalevsky Lecture prize in 2009. She has been elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the U.S. National Academy of Sciences. She is a Fellow of the American Mathematical Society, the American Physical Society, and SIAM 

SIAM Prize for Distinguished Service to the Profession

Maria J. Esteban, Université Paris-Dauphine, France

Maria J. Esteban is a French mathematician of Basque origin. She is currently senior researcher at Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS) and holds a position at Université Paris-Dauphine. She did her undergraduate studies at the University of the Basque Country, in Bilbao. She moved to France to earn her PhD and, upon achieving this in 1981 at Université Pierre et Marie Curie, she decided to stay in France. Since then she has been a researcher at CNRS, holding various positions, first in what is now called Sorbonne Université and later at the Université Paris-Dauphine. Professor Esteban has been director of CEREMADE (the applied mathematics department of Université Paris-Dauphine), president of Societé de Mathématiques Appliquées et Industrielles (SMAI), and co-founder of the European Service Network of Mathematics for Industry and Innovation (EU-MATHS-IN). She is president of ICIAM for the 2015-2019 term. Currently she is a member of several editorial boards, and has been for many years one of the two Editors-in-Chief of the Annales of the Institut Henri Poincaré - Analyse Non Linéaire. She has been an Associate Editor of the SIAM Journal on Mathematical Analysis and she is a Fellow of SIAM.

Want to attend the 9th International Congress on Industrial and Applied Mathematics (ICIAM 2019)? Learn more.

blog comments powered by Disqus