SIAM News Blog

SIAM Honors Excellence and Innovation at 2012 Prize Luncheon

The following recipients of SIAM awards and prizes were recognized in Minneapolis on July 10, during the 2012 SIAM Annual Meeting:

  • I.E. Block Community Lecture. Robert Bridson, University of British Columbia, Canada; the lecture was titled “Creating Reality: The Mathematics Behind Visual Effects.”
  • AWM–SIAM Sonia Kovalevsky Lecture. Barbara Lee Keyfitz, Ohio State University, with a lecture titled “The Role of Characteristics in Conservation Laws.”
  • Richard C. DiPrima Prize. Thomas A. Goldstein, Stanford University, for his dissertation “Algorithms and Applications for L1 Minimization.”
  • George Pölya Prize. Vojtěch Rödl, Emory University, and Mathias Schacht, University of Hamburg, Germany.
  • W.T. and Idalia Reid Prize in Mathematics. Ruth F. Curtain, University of Groningen, The Netherlands, who gave a lecture titled “Large Algebraic Properties of Riccati Equations.”
  • SIAG/FME Junior Scientist Prize. Sergey Nadtochiy, University of Oxford, UK, who gave a lecture titled “Market-Based Approach to Modeling Derivatives Prices.”

SIAM Awards in the Mathematical Contest in Modeling

2011 Problem A, The Continuous Problem: “Snowboard Course”

  • Solution:  “A Half-Blood/Half-Pipe: A Perfect Performance”
  • Students: Enhao Gong, Rongsha Li, and Xiaoyun Wang
  • Faculty Adviser: Jimin Zhang, Tsinghua University, PRC

2011 Problem B, The Discrete Problem: “Repeater Coordination”

  • Solution: “Clustering in a Network” 
  • Students: Daniel Furlong, Dylan Marriner, and Louis Ryan
  • Faculty Adviser: Susan Martonosi, Harvey Mudd College

2012 Problem A, The Continuous Problem: “The Leaves of a Tree”

  • Solution: “The Secrets of Leaves”
  • Students: Cheng Fu, Hangqi Zhao, and Danting Zhu
  • Faculty Adviser: Zhiyi Tan, Zhejiang University, PRC

2012 Problem B, The Discrete Problem: “Camping Along the Big Long River”

  • Solution: “C.A.R.S: Cellular Automaton Rafting Simulation”
  • Students: James Jones, Suraj Kannan, and Joshua Mitchell
  • Faculty Adviser: Changbing Hu, University of Louisville

Student Paper Prizes

2011 Recipients:

  • Necdet Serhat Aybat, Pennsylvania State University; PhD in 2011, Columbia University; for “Unified Approach for Minimizing Composite Norms.” (Co-Author: Garud N. Iyengar, Columbia University)
  • Sungwoo Park, Knight Capital Group; PhD in 2011, University of Maryland, College Park; for “Portfolio Selection Using Tikhonov Filtering to Estimate the Covariance Matrix.” (Co-Author: Dianne P. O’Leary, University of Maryland, College Park)
  • Xiangxiong Zhang, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; PhD in 2011, Brown University; for “On Maximum-Principle-Satisfying High Order Schemes for Scalar Conservation Laws.” (Co-Author: Chi-Wang Shu, Brown University) 

2012 Recipients:

  • Brittany D. Froese, Simon Fraser University, Canada, for “Convergent Finite Difference Solvers for Viscosity Solutions of the Elliptic Monge–Ampère Equation in Dimensions Two and Higher.” (Co-Author: Adam Oberman)
  • Stefanie Hollborn, Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz, Germany, for “Reconstructions from Backscatter Data in Electric Impedance Tomography.”
  • Marina Moraiti, University of Pittsburgh, for “On the Quasistatic Approximation in the Stokes–Darcy Model of Groundwater–Surface Water Flows.”

Outstanding Paper Prizes

  • Nir Ailon, Technion, Israel, and Bernard Chazelle, Princeton University, for “The Fast Johnson–Lindenstrauss Transform and Approximate Nearest Neighbors,” SIAM Journal on Computing, Volume 39, Issue 1 (2009), 302–322.
  • Matthew D. Finn, University of Adelaide, Australia, and Jean-Luc Thiffeault, University of Wisconsin, for “Topological Optimization of Rod-Stirring Devices,” SIAM Review, Volume 53, Issue 4 (2011), Expository Research Papers section, 723–743.
  • Bart Vandereycken, École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland, and Stefan Vandewalle, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium, for “A Riemannian Optimization Approach for Computing Low-Rank Solutions of Lyapunov Equations,” SIAM Journal on Matrix Analysis and Applications, Volume 31, Issue 5 (2010), 2553–2579.

SIAM Prize for Distinguished Service to the Profession

Barbara Lee Keyfitz, Ohio State University.

The John von Neumann Lecture

Sir John Ball, University of Oxford, UK, gave the 2012 lecture, “Liquid Crystals for Mathematicians.”

2011 SIGEST Authors

Each issue of SIAM Review’s SIGEST section features the slightly modified version of a paper originally published in one of SIAM’s research journals. SIGEST papers are judged to be of exceptional quality and of potential significance to the entire SIAM community. 
  • Margaret Beck and C. Eugene Wayne, Boston University, “Using Global Invariant Manifolds to Understand Metastability in the Burgers Equation with Small Viscosity,” SIAM Review, Volume 53, Issue 1 (2011), 129–153; published originally in SIADS.
  • Stephen A. Gourley, University of Surrey, UK, and Xingfu Zou, University of Western Ontario, Canada, “A Mathematical Model for the Control and Eradication of a Wood Boring Beetle Infestation,” SIAM Review, Volume 53, Issue 2 (2011), 321–345; published originally in SIAP.
  • Anna Pagh, Rasmus Pagh, and Milan Ružić, University of Copenhagen, Denmark, “Linear Probing with 5-wise Independence,” SIAM Review, Volume 53, Issue 3 (2011), 547–558; published originally in SICOMP.
  • Alex Olshevsky, Princeton University, and John N. Tsitsiklis, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, “Convergence Speed in Distributed Consensus and Averaging,” SIAM Review, Volume 53, Issue 4 (2011), 747–772; published originally in SICON.

SIAM Fellows, Class of 2012

  • Tamer Başar, University of Illinois at Urbana–Champaign
  • Michele Benzi,  Emory University
  • Anthony M. Bloch, University of Michigan
  • Pavel B. Bochev, Sandia National Laboratories
  • Richard A. Brualdi, University of Wisconsin–Madison, Emeritus
  • Gui-Qiang G. Chen, University of Oxford
  • G. Bard Ermentrout, University of Pittsburgh
  • Richard S. Falk, Rutgers University
  • Lisa J. Fauci, Tulane University
  • David R. Ferguson, Applied Mathematical Analysis and The Boeing Company, Retired
  • M. Gregory Forest, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • Susan Friedlander, University of Southern California
  • Irene M. Gamba, University of Texas at Austin
  • Walter Gautschi, Purdue University, Retired
  • Donald Goldfarb, Columbia University
  • Sven Hammarling, Numerical Algorithms Group Ltd, Semiretired, and University of Manchester
  • Pavol Hell, Simon Fraser University
  • Bruce Hendrickson, Sandia National Laboratories
  • Kirk E. Jordan, IBM Corporation
  • Michael I. Jordan, University of California, Berkeley
  • James P. Keener, University of Utah
  • Naomi Ehrich Leonard, Princeton University
  • Philip Kumar Maini, University of Oxford
  • Geoffrey B. McFadden, National Institute of Standards and Technology
  • Edward Ott, University of Maryland, College Park
  • Tamar Schlick, New York University
  • David B. Shmoys, Cornell University
  • Mary Silber, Northwestern University
  • Barry F. Smith, Argonne National Laboratory
  • Tao Tang, Hong Kong Baptist University
  • Edriss S. Titi, Weizmann Institute of Science and University of California, Irvine
  • Robert J. Vanderbei, Princeton University
  • Richard S. Varga, Kent State University, Emeritus
  • Jan C. Willems, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven
  • Thaleia Zariphopoulou, University of Oxford and University of Texas at Austin.
blog comments powered by Disqus