SIAM News Blog

New Year Brings New Leadership for SIAM

By Lina Sorg

Members have voted, results are in, and it’s time for the SIAM community to meet their newly-elected officers. Those elected will oversee a range of activities, make decisions on behalf of members, and aid in advancing SIAM’s mission and goals. 

Nicholas Higham, the Richardson Professor of Applied Mathematics at the University of Manchester, is SIAM’s 2016 president-elect. On January 1, 2017, he will begin his two-year term as president, succeeding Pam Cook. Higham joined SIAM while working towards his Ph.D., and has been involved with the community for 31 years. He served two terms as vice president at large from 2010-2013, and spent eight years on the Board of Trustees and six on the Council. Higham helped establish SIAM Blogs in 2013, has authored four SIAM books, and most recently acted as chair of the SIAM Book Committee. His research interests include numerical analysis, numerical linear algebra, and scientific computing. 

Ilse Ipsen will serve a two-year term as vice president at large. She is currently a professor of mathematics and associate director of the Statistical and Applied Mathematical Sciences Institute at North Carolina State University. Ipsen was a member of the editorial board for the SIAM Journal on Matrix Analysis and Applications from 1997-2014, and has been a member of SIAM Review’s editorial board since 2004. She spent six years as section editor of SIAM Review. Her area of research spans numerical linear algebra, randomized algorithms, and numerical analysis.

Simon Tavener, a professor of mathematics at Colorado State University, was reelected to a third consecutive term as secretary, a position he has held since 2012. Tavener’s research interests include numerical analysis and scientific computing, especially error estimation and adaptivity for multi-physics problems, as well as computational biology, including ecology and evolution. He has served as associate dean of Colorado State’s College of Natural Sciences since 2011. 

The SIAM community also elected three officers to serve three-year terms on the Board of Trustees. Linda Petzold is currently a computer science professor and director of the Computational Science and Engineering Graduate Emphasis at the University of California, Santa Barbara. She served as SIAM’s vice president at large from 2000-2001, and has been a member of the Committee on Science Policy since 2000. Lisa Fauci, associate director of the Center for Computational Science at Tulane University, has been a part of the SIAM Board since 2009. She served as chair of the SIAM Activity Group on Life Sciences from 2009-2011, and spent six years as associate editor of the the SIAM Journal of Applied Dynamical Systems. Leslie Greengard is a professor of mathematics and computer science at New York University, as well as director of the Simons Center for Data Analysis at the Simons Foundation. He has organized minisymposia at multiple SIAM annual, CS&E, and ICIAM meetings.

Four members are joining (or rejoining) the Council in 2016, and will serve alongside the remaining council members. Andreas Griewank is the Dean of the School of Information Sciences and Technology at Yachay Tech in Ecuador. Part of the council since 2013, he has authored a SIAM book, is a member of the SIAM Activity Group on Optimization, and helps organize workshops on Automatic and Algorithmic Differentiation. Toby Driscoll of the University of Delaware has been a member of SIAM since 1994. He is a SIAM book author and was associate editor of the SIAM Journal on Scientific Computing from 2007-2013. Xiaoye Sherry Li is a senior scientist at the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory. She will serve as co-chair for the 2017 SIAM Conference on Computational Science and Engineering, and is currently part of the Gene Golub SIAM Summer School committee. Lastly, Joel Tropp of the California Institute of Technology was the invited speaker for the 2015 Joint Mathematics Meetings. He was also a member of the editorial board for the SIAM Journal on Matrix Analysis and Applications from 2013-2015. 

SIAM thanks all previous officers for their inspiring work, and looks forward to continued success in the coming year.

Lina Sorg is the associate editor of SIAM News. 
blog comments powered by Disqus