SIAM News Blog

New 2017 SIAG/CSE Early Career Prize

The officers of the SIAM Activity Group on Computational Science and Engineering (SIAG/CSE) are enthused to announce the call for nominations for the 2017 SIAG/CSE Early Career Prize. This new prize will be presented at the 2017 SIAM CSE Conference to one post-Ph.D. early career researcher in the field of CSE for outstanding, influential, and potentially long-lasting contributions to the field within seven years of receiving the PhD. Based on strong support from the community for establishing this new award, including discussion during the SIAG/CSE business meeting at CSE15, the SIAG/CSE officers have worked with the SIAM Major Awards Committee and SIAM staff to create this award, which will be presented biennially at the SIAM CSE conference.  

We encourage the CSE community to nominate early career researchers; click on the “Submit a nomination” icon below. The deadline for submitting all nominations and supporting materials is November 30, 2016. This is a hard deadline that will not be extended due to the timeline for work by SIAM and the selection committee. So be sure to mark your calendars and get started now to assemble nomination materials. 

2017 SIAG/CSE Early Career Prize



Eligibility Criteria:

The candidate’s work must be a significant research contribution to the development and use of mathematical and computational tools and methods for the solution of scientific and engineering problems. The qualifying contribution(s) for which the award is made must be publicly available and may belong to any aspect of computational science and engineering in its broadest sense. The candidate must have been awarded their Ph.D. no earlier than 2010 and no later than the nomination deadline; current graduate students are not eligible for this award.

Nomination Deadline:


November 30, 2016

Required Materials:

  • Nominator’s Letter of Recommendation for Candidate
  • Candidate’s CV
  • 2-3 Letters of support from experts in the field

Selection Committee:

Hans De Sterck (Chair), Monash University, Australia
Peter Jimack, University of Leeds, UK
George Karniadakis, Brown University
Misha Kilmer, Tufts University
Ulrike Meier Yang, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

Learn more about our prize program and view all prizes with open calls

Contact [email protected] with questions regarding the nomination procedure.

Announcement courtesy of 2015-16 Officers of SIAG/CSE: 
Lois Curfman McInnes, Chair
Hans De Sterck, Vice Chair
Jan Hesthaven, Program Director
Suzanne Shontz, Secretary

blog comments powered by Disqus