SIAM News Blog

Distinguished Mathematicians Receive Honorary Recognition from International Applied Mathematics Society

Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM) has announced the 18 recipients of prestigious prizes that will be awarded at the SIAM Annual Meeting, taking place virtually July 19-23, 2021. As part of the meeting, awardees will be recognized during a reception on July 21, 2021 at 9 a.m. ET.

The SIAM Annual Meeting provides a broad view of the state of the art in applied mathematics, computational science, and their applications through invited presentations, prize lectures, minitutorials, minisymposia, contributed presentations, and posters. The I. E. Block Community Lecture, to be given July 20, 2021 by Jonathan Christopher Mattingly of Duke University, is free and open to the public. Register here to attend this year’s talk, which will focus on the mathematics of gerrymandering.

SIAM congratulates and thanks these recipients for their hard work, dedication, and impressive contributions, which strengthen and enhance the landscape of applied mathematics and computational science worldwide.

Hedy Attouch, Retired from University of Montpellier

George B. Dantzig Prize

Yingjie Bi, University of California, Berkeley

SIAM Student Paper Prize

Léon Bottou, Facebook AI Research

Lagrange Prize in Continuous Optimization

Frank E. Curtis, Lehigh University

Lagrange Prize in Continuous Optimization

Michelle Feng, California Institute of Technology

SIAM Student Paper Prize

Assefaw H. Gebremedhin, Washington State University

George Pólya Prize in Applied Combinatorics

Vivette Girault, Retired from Sorbonne Université, CNRS

AWM⁠—SIAM Sonia Kovalevsky Lecture

Michel Goemans, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

George B. Dantzig Prize

Nicholas J. Higham, University of Manchester

George Pólya Prize for Mathematical Exposition 

Thomas J.R. Hughes, Retired from University of Texas at Austin

Ralph E. Kleinman Prize

Karl Kunisch, University of Graz

W. T. and Idalia Reid Prize

Deborah Frank Lockhart, Retired from National Science Foundation  

SIAM Prize for Distinguished Service to the Profession 

Fredrik Manne, The University of Bergen

George Pólya Prize in Applied Combinatorics

Jonathan Christopher Mattingly, Duke University

I. E. Block Community Lecture

Jorge Nocedal, Northwestern University

Lagrange Prize in Continuous Optimization

Alex Pothen, Purdue University

George Pólya Prize in Applied Combinatorics

Chi-Wang Shu, Brown University

John von Neumann Prize

Yuanzhao Zhang, Cornell University

SIAM Student Paper Prize

Hear directly from these recipients in this SIAM News Q&A article and this video, and learn more about the SIAM Prize Program.

About Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics
Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM), headquartered in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, is an international society of more than 14,500 individual, academic, and corporate members from 85 countries. SIAM helps build cooperation between mathematics and the worlds of science and technology to solve real-world problems through publications, conferences, and communities like chapters, sections and activity groups. Learn more at

blog comments powered by Disqus